Share this page:

Clinical Council

In partnership with Infoway, the Clinical Council was established in 2011 to bring together a group of patient representatives, health care providers and leaders from different disciplines to provide strategic advice on Infoway’s approach to clinical engagement and investments. Through the Clinical Council, we engage with clinical leaders from across Canada and solicit clinician representation for a number of Infoway committees and groups.

Clinical Council Members


Dr. Michael Golbey (Chair)

Dr. Michael Golbey is a family physician in Kelowna, BC. He has been very active in medical associations over the years. He was president of the British Columbia Medical Association in 2005-2006 and is presently chair of the board of the Canadian Medical Association. He was a member of the Canada Health Infoway board of directors for six years. He also currently sits on the board of Hope Air – a charitable organization that helps provide flights to Canadians who need treatments in communities distant from where they live.

He has been a strong believer in the value of electronic health records for many years and has recently introduced an electronic medical record system into his practice.

↑ back to top

Dr. lrmajean Bajnok

Dr. lrmajean Bajnok is the director of Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario's (RNAO's) International Affairs and Best Practice Guidelines Centre. She oversees the development, dissemination and evaluation of the best practice guidelines (BPGs) in both the clinical nursing and healthy work environment areas. She is a leader in promoting technology-enabled evidence-based practice using BPGs.

Dr. Bajnok also leads the RNAO's eHealth portfolio and has been involved with the development of eHealth resources including the RNAO eHealth Toolkit, the Faculty eHealth Resource and the eHealth Foundational elearning Program. She also oversees the RNAO's extensive national and international conference and events program.

Dr. Bajnok has a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree, with a major in Teaching and Supervision, from the University of Alberta; a Master of Science in Nursing, majoring in Administration in Schools of Nursing and Nursing Services, from the University of Western Ontario; and a PhD from the department of epidemiology at the University of Western Ontario. In 2006, Dr. Bajnok was the recipient of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Gail J. Donner Award for Excellence in Nursing Education. In 2009, she received an STTI Practice/Academe Innovative Collaboration Award, together with colleagues from RNAO and the University of Ottawa, for their work as part of the joint RNAO/University of Ottawa Nursing Best Practice Research Unit (NBPRU).

↑ back to top

Dr. Sholom Glouberman

Sholom Glouberman is founding President of the Patients' Association of Canada. He is also Philosopher in Residence at the Kunin Lunenfeld Applied Research Unit of the Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care and an adjunct assistant professor at the University of Toronto. For the past 25 years, he has applied philosophical methods and conceptual analysis to organizations and systems. Increasingly, he has focused on health as the single most challenging and little-charted frontier.

With solid health experience, he has designed and directed innovative management programs at the King's Fund (London, UK) and at McGill University (Montreal, QC) and has been a trusted advisor in Canada and internationally. He has directed the health policy think tank at the Canadian Policy Research Networks and he recently initiated with others, the first patient-led and patient-governed organization dedicated to promoting and enhancing the patient voice in Canada.

Sholom has spoken widely in Europe, throughout North America and in Australia. His publications focus on complex health systems, health in cities, health care reform and the health care experience; with his most recent book being, My Operation: A Health Insider becomes a Patient. He is currently hard at work on the nature of patient engagement in health care systems and a contributor to

He holds a B.A. from McGill and a PhD in Philosophy from Cornell University.

↑ back to top

Dr. John Haggie

Dr. John Haggie is an attending surgeon at James Paton Memorial Hospital in Gander, Newfoundland where he was also previously chief of staff and chief of the department of surgery.

A physician and surgeon with over 30 years of experience, Dr. Haggie has practiced in both England and Canada. Over the span of his career he had held a number of positions including consulting surgeon at the Grenfell Region Health Services in St. Anthony, Newfoundland, head of a referral-based practice for the Great Northern Peninsula and Labrador and physician at the University Hospital of South Manchester.

Dr. John Haggie is the 2012-2013 past president of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). He was the provincial representative on the CMA's board of directors for a number of years. Additionally, Dr. Haggie was the past president of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association (NLMA) in 2002.

Dr. John Haggie graduated from the Victoria University of Manchester School of Medicine, completed his graduate studies in general surgery and was certified by the Royal College of Surgeons of England. He received a doctorate after a two-year fellowship at the University Hospital of South Manchester and the Christie Hospital's Institute in Cancer Research.

↑ back to top

Ms. Iris Krawchenko

Iris Krawchenko is a pharmacist in Hamilton, Ontario and the Chair of the Board of Directors for Dell Pharmacy’s 17 locations. Ms. Krawchenko has been a member of Canada Health Infoway’s Clinical Adoption Clinician Reference Group and is currently a member of Infoway’s e-Prescribing Working Group for the e-Prescribing Harmonization Project.

She was recently reappointed by the Ontario Minister of Health to serve as a member of the Ontario Pharmacy Council. She is Past-President of the Ontario College of Pharmacists and was a pharmacist mentor with the Health Force Ontario Mentorship Program of the Ontario Pharmacists' Association/Ontario College of Family Physicians.

Presently, she is a member of the Curriculum and Experiential Advisory Board, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. In 2007, she received the Pharmacist of the Year Award from the Ontario Pharmacists' Association.

↑ back to top


Dr. Jean-François Rancourt

Dr. Rancourt has been a family physician in the semi-rural region of Montmagny near Quebec City for 25 years. He has been Head of the Department of General Medicine at the Montmagny-L’Islet Health and Social Services Centre since 1997. He is responsible for the Montmagny Family Medicine Group, which was created in 2003 and consolidates seven physician offices. The group works with six nurses. Dr. Rancourt represents the Chaudière-Appalaches Region in the implementation of the Quebec Health Record Project (a peer-to-peer network working to implement the provincial EHR).

Dr. Rancourt has participated for several years in the work of the advisory panel made up of Infoway physicians, which became the Clinical Adoption Committee. This spring, he participated as an expert in the certification of Quebec electronic health records.

↑ back to top

infoway logo

Digital Health Working for You.


Transforming health care in Canada through health information technology.

Contact Us

General Inquiries

T: (416) 979-4606
Toll Free: 1-888-733-6462

InfoCentral Inquiries

T: (416) 595-3417
Toll Free: 1-877-595-3417


T: (514) 868-0550

Media Inquiries

T: (416) 595-3424
Toll Free: 1-888-733-6462